Sign In Forgot Password

Vounteer Opportunities

The Temple firmly believes that being an active member of the community is the best way to make a difference. To that end, the following organizations represent a bevy of volunteer opportunities. We work with many of them each year for our Mitzvah Day.

Atlanta Center for Self Sufficiency

Help serve a gourmet brunch. All proceeds earned from the Cafe 458 weekend brunch go directly to Atlanta Center for Self Sufficiency programs, which help homeless men and wemen achieve sulf-sufficiency through personalized readiness, employment and life stabilization programs. Serve tables and wash dishes. 

Contact: Alison Smith at Alison.smith@atlantaacss.org
404-446-4680
458 Edgewood Ave SE
Atlanta, GA 30312

Atlanta Community Food Bank

Sorting food at the Product Rescue Center. The Food Bank’s mission is to fight hunger by engaging, educating and empowering our community. 

Contact: Suzanne Roush, Director of Vol. Services; Suzanne.roush@acfb.org
678-553-5984
970 Jefferson St., NW
Atlanta, GA 30307

Atlanta Day Shelter

The shelter acts as a daytime home and resource center that helps ease the burden of homelessness for women and children. Contact: Shirley Baker, Director of Operations; adswc@yahoo.com
404-876-2894
655 Ethel St NW
Atlanta, GA 30318

Atlanta Ronald McDonald House Charities

Provides a home away from home for families of seriously ill and injured children who must travel to receive treatment at Atlanta area children’s hospitals. Contact: Kym Clausen, Director of Volunteer Services; k.clausen@armh.com
678-704-8098
795 Gatewood Road, NE
Atlanta, GA 30329

CHRIS Kids

Mission is to heal children, strengthen families, and build community. Core values are Creativity, Honor, Respect, Intergrity and Safety: CHRIS

Contact: Robert Lewis; Robert.lewis@chriskids.org
404-486-9034
3109 Clairmont Road, Suite B
Atlanta, GA 30329

City of Refuge

City of Refuge offer both life saving resources and life building tools to individuals and families in Atlanta who are living on the margin.

Contact: Lee Seals
404-564-7742
1300 Joseph E. Boone Blvd
Atlanta, GA 30314

Genesis Shelter

The Genesis Shelter provides housing and support for homeless newborns and their families.

Contact: Marla Poe; mpoe@genesisanewlife.org
404-522-6056
173 Boulevard NE
Atlanta, GA 30312

Jerusalem House

Jerusalem House is a warm, caring home for people with AIDS, which allows them to retain their independence and dignity.

Contact: Sharon Carey; Sharon@jerusalemhouse.org
678-999-9262 

Georgia Lions Lighthouse Foundation

Recycling eye glasses to third world countries.

Contact: Judith Kerr; jkerr@lionslighthouse.org
404-325-3630
5582 Peachtree Rd
Chamblee, GA 30341

MedShare

MedShare collects surplus medical supplies and used equipment from US hospitals and manufactorers. Supplies are sent to hospitals and clinices in third world countries.

Contact: David Winograd; dwinograd@medshare.org

770-323-5858
3240 Clifton Springs Road
Decatur, GA 30034 

Midtown Assistance Center (MAC)

MAC assists the working poor in mid-town Atlanta.

Contact: Rebecca Richard
mac@midtownassistancectr.org
404-681-0470
30 Porter Place
Atlanta, GA 30317 

Oakland Cemetery

Help with the grounds keeping of the graves in The Temple’s section of the cemetery. Raking, trimming shrubs and cutting grass.

Contact: Kevin Kuharic - Landscaping & Restoration; kkuharic@oaklandcemetery.com
404-688-2107
248 Oakland Ave SE
Atlanta, GA 30312 

Open Door Community

This worthwhile agency provides food, showers and other comforts to the homeless in Atlanta.

Contact: Sarah Humphrey; opendoorcomm@bellsouth.net
404-874-4906
910 Ponce de Leon Ave
Atlanta, GA 30306 

Our House

Day care for homeless children.

Contact: Nadiya Boyce; nboyce@ourhouse.org
404-378-0938
711 S. Columbia Drive
Decatur, GA 30030 

Park Pride

Help with keeping our city’s beautiful parks clean.

Contact: John Ahem; john@parkpride.org
404-723-3116
675 Ponce de Leon Ave., 8th Floor
Atlanta, GA 30308 

Project Open Hand

This worthwhile agency package and deliver meals for people suffering with AIDS. This agency delivers over 1100 meals each day. Contact: Steven Grout; jgrout@projectopenhand.org
404-872-2707
176 Ottey Drive
Atlanta, GA 30308 

Refugee, Resettlement & Immigration Services of Atlanta

RRISA’s mission is to heal and rebuild the lives of displaced and uprooted people, answering the humanitarian call to serve those fleeing from persecution, famine, and extreme proverty.

Contact: Amy Crownover, Director of Development; acrownover@rrisa.org
404-622-2235
2300 Henderson Mill Road Suite 200 
Atlanta, GA 30318 

Second Helpings

Volunteer to help eliminate hunger in the five-county Metropolitan Atlanta area by rescuing surplus food and delivering it to those in need 

Contact: www.secondhelpingsatlanta.org  or Larry Auerbach: laauerbach@gmail.com 

Wesley Woods

Brighten senior citizen’s life with smiles and friendly visits. 

Contact: Melissa Walker
404-315-0900
1819 Clifton Rd NE
Atlanta, GA 30329 

William Breman Jewish Home

Brighten senior citizen’s life with smiles and friendly visits.

Contact: Shauna Horvath; shorvath@wbjhome.org
404-351-8410
3150 Howell Mill Road
Marietta, GA 30062 

Zaban Couples Center

Helping homeless couples get back on their feet again.
404-872-2915
1605 Peachtree St
Atlanta, GA 30309

Sat, December 15 2018 7 Tevet 5779